Planning Committee

Susan Wolf

Susan M. Wolf, JD, is Chair of the conference planning committee. She is McKnight Presidential Professor of Law, Medicine & Public Policy; Faegre Baker Daniels Professor of Law; and Professor of Medicine at the University of Minnesota. Prof. Wolf is Chair of the Consortium on Law and Values in Health, Environment & the Life Sciences. She is an elected member of the National Academy of Medicine (NAM) and a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.  Prof. Wolf's research has been supported by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and National Science Foundation (NSF) as well as private foundations including the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and The Greenwall Foundation.

Chris Cramer

Christopher Cramer, PhD, is Vice President for Research; Distinguished McKnight Professor and University Teaching Professor at the University of Minnesota. Areas of research includes modeling catalysis to advance sustainable chemistry and chemical processes, molecular and material phenomena associated with solar energy devices, theoretical characterization of small-molecule activation at transition-metal centers, and modeling remediation of environmental contaminants and chemical warfare agents.

Milton Eder

Milton "Mickey" Eder, PhD, is Assistant Professor in the Department of Family Medicine and Community Health and Director of the Clinical and Translational Science Institute’s (CTSI) Community Engagement to Advance Research and Community Health (CEARCH) core. CEARCH supports community and academic teams who implement, manage, and evaluate a research program that engages diverse communities in translational science. He also serves on multiple External Advisory Boards for other Clinical and Translational Science Award sites across the country. 

J. Michael Oakes

J. Michael Oakes, PhD, is Associate Vice President for Research and Professor, Division of Epidemiology and Community Health in the School of Public Health at the University of Minnesota. Associate Vice President Oakes has regulatory and compliance responsibilities associated with the Human Research Protection Program (HRPP), Institutional Review Board (IRB), the Research Compliance Office (RCO), and several academic centers and institutes in the Office of the Vice President for Research (OVPR). He also serves as OVPR’s point person for the AHC restructuring plan. He currently directs the Interdisciplinary Research Leaders (IRL), a nationwide research leadership program supported by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.

Sarah Waldemar

Sarah Waldemar is Director of the Research Compliance Office, an independent unit that helps ensure that University of Minnesota research complies with relevant laws, rules, policies, and guidelines. She has served the University for more than 37 years, including as Director of Research Education and Oversight; Head of the Office of Oversight, Analysis, and Reporting; and Administrative Director of the Division of Environmental Health Sciences in the School of Public Health. She has coordinated multi-center clinical trials and been a leader in the University’s risk recalibration activities. She holds a B.A. from the University of Minnesota and is a graduate of Minnesota Partnership for Executive Leadership Development.

Doug Yee

Douglas Yee, MD, is Director of the Masonic Cancer Center, Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology, and John H. Kersey Chair in Cancer Research at the University of Minnesota. As Director of the Cancer Center, he serves as the point person for all cancer research at the University. He also treats patients with breast cancer and conducts research to improve cancer therapies.