Planning Committee

Susan Wolf

Susan M. Wolf, JD, is McKnight Presidential Professor of Law, Medicine & Public Policy; Faegre Baker Daniels Professor of Law; and Professor of Medicine at the University of Minnesota. Prof. Wolf is Chair of the Consortium on Law and Values in Health, Environment & the Life Sciences. She is an elected member of the National Academy of Medicine and a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Her research has been supported by the National Institutes of Health and National Science Foundation, as well as private foundations including the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and The Greenwall Foundation. Professor Wolf is co-lead of the Minnesota COVID Ethics Collaborative (MCEC)

Chris Cramer

Christopher J. Cramer, PhD, is Vice President for Research at the University of Minnesota and a Distinguished McKnight and University Teaching Professor in the College of Science and Engineering. Prior to his appointment as Vice President, he served as Associate Dean for Research and Planning, and Academic Affairs, in the University’s College of Science and Engineering. Prof. Cramer served as the Editor-in-Chief of Theoretical Chemistry Accounts and as an Associate Editor for the Journal of Physical Organic Chemistry. He is a Fellow by the American Chemical Society, the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation and John Simon Guggenheim Foundation, and his recent research has been supported by the U.S. Department of Energy, the National Science Foundation, and the Defense Threat Reduction Agency. 

J. Michael Oakes

J. Michael Oakes, PhD, is Professor, Division of Epidemiology and Community Health in the School of Public Health and Associate Vice President for Research at the University of Minnesota. Associate Vice President Oakes has regulatory and compliance responsibilities associated with the Human Research Protection Program (HRPP), Institutional Review Board (IRB), the Research Compliance Office (RCO), and several academic centers and institutes in the Office of the Vice President for Research (OVPR). He co-founded and directs the Interdisciplinary Research Leaders (IRL), a nationwide research leadership program supported by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.


Michael T. Osterholm, PhD, MPH, is Regents Professor; McKnight Presidential Endowed Chair in Public Health; Director of the Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy (CIDRAP); Distinguished Teaching Professor in the Division of Environmental Health Sciences, School of Public Health; and an Adjunct Professor in the Medical School at the University of Minnesota. In November 2020, Dr. Osterholm was appointed to President-elect Joe Biden's 13-member Transition COVID-19 Advisory Board. From June 2018 through May 2019, he served as a Science Envoy for Health Security on behalf of the U.S. Department of State. Dr. Osterholm is a member of the National Academy of Medicine and the Council on Foreign Relations.

Sarah Waldemar

Sarah Waldemar is Director of the Research Compliance Office, an independent unit that helps ensure that University of Minnesota research complies with relevant laws, rules, policies, and guidelines. She has served the University for more than 37 years, including as Director of Research Education and Oversight; Head of the Office of Oversight, Analysis, and Reporting; and Administrative Director of the Division of Environmental Health Sciences in the School of Public Health. She has coordinated multi-center clinical trials and been a leader in the University’s risk recalibration activities. She holds a B.A. from the University of Minnesota and is a graduate of Minnesota Partnership for Executive Leadership Development.

Doug Yee

Douglas Yee, MD, is Director of the Masonic Cancer Center, Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology, and John H. Kersey Chair in Cancer Research at the University of Minnesota. As Director of the Cancer Center, he serves as the point person for all cancer research at the University. He is a medical oncologist with a specialty in breast cancer. His laboratory has been interested in the regulation of cancer cells by the insulin-like growth factors (IGFs) and insulin. He serves as the site principal investigator on several clinical trials that employ experimental therapies targeted against IGF receptor and the PI3K pathway. He is chair of the Agent Selection Committee and serves on the Executive Committee of the I-SPY2 trail, which is designed to validate investigational therapies in the neoadjuvant treatment of breast cancer.