(moderator: Susan M. Wolf, JD, McKnight Presidential Professor of Law, Medicine & Public Policy; Faegre Baker Daniels Professor of Law; Professor of Medicine; Chair, Consortium on Law and Values in Health, Environment & the Life Sciences, University of Minnesota)

  • Christopher J. Cramer, PhD, Vice President for Research; Distinguished McKnight University Professor, Department of Chemistry, University of Minnesota 

Changing Oversight of Emerging Technology – Challenges for Researchers, Institutional Biosafety Committees (IBCs), and the Community
(moderator: Jakub Tolar, MD, PhD, Dean of the Medical School; Vice President for Clinical Affairs; McKnight University Distinguished Professor of Pediatrics; Director, Stem Cell Institute, University of Minnesota)

  • Carrie D. Wolinetz, PhD, Associate Director for Science Policy, National Institutes of Health (NIH)  


Changing the Common Rule for Research with Human Participants – Challenges for Investigators, IRBs, and Participants
(moderator: Michelle Biros, MD, Professor, Interim Department Head, and Research Director of the Department of Emergency Medicine; Deputy Institutional Official, University of Minnesota Biomedical Research; Vulnerable Populations Advisor, University of Minnesota Medical School Institutional Review Board; and Past Editor-in-Chief, Academic Emergency Medicine

  • P. Pearl O’Rourke, MD, Director of Human Research Affairs, Partners HealthCare Systems, Boston; Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Harvard Medical School; Member, Working Group of the Advisory Committee to the Director, All of Us Research Program


Changing the Definition of Clinical Trials – Challenges for Basic and Social Scientists
(moderator: Megan Gunnar, PhD, Regents Professor; Distinguished McKnight University Professor; Department Chair, Institute of Child Development, University of Minnesota)

  • Jeremy M. Wolfe, PhD, Professor of Ophthalmology and Radiology, Harvard Medical School; Director, Visual Attention Lab, Department of Surgery, Brigham and Women’s Hospital; former President, Federation of Associations of Behavioral and Brain Sciences (FABBS)


Break (with distribution of box lunches)

Panel Discussion
(moderator: Douglas Yee, MD, John H. Kersey Chair in Cancer Research; Professor, Medicine and Pharmacology; Director, Masonic Cancer Center, University of Minnesota)
The morning speakers and moderators will participate in a panel discussion and take questions from the audience. The following panelists will give brief remarks before all join in the discussion.

  • Sue Abderholden, MPH, Executive Director, NAMI (National Alliance on Mental Illness) Minnesota; Member, Community Oversight Board, Office of the Vice President for Research, University of Minnesota 
  • Zubin Master, PhD, Associate Professor of Biomedical Ethics, Biomedical Ethics Research Program and Center for Regenerative Medicine, Mayo Clinic
  • John E. Wagner, Jr., MD, McKnight Presidential Chair in Childhood Cancer Research; Children’s Cancer Research Fund/Hageboeck Family Endowed Chair in Pediatric Oncology; Scientific Director of Clinical Research, Stem Cell Institute, University of Minnesota

Closing remarks

  • Susan M. Wolf, JD, Chair, Consortium on Law and Values in Health, Environment & the Life Sciences, University of Minnesota

1:30 pm